>

Curious questions....

General discussion for aircraft display model collectors.

Curious questions....

Postby Peter Si » Fri May 12, 2023 4:54 am

Hello,

Newbie here, though not new at collecting models.

I recently was able to acquire two rather peculiar models and I was wondering if anyone had ever encountered either of them?

The first one is a solid aluminum Convair Golden Arrow (not an 880) in TWA livery by Peter V Nelson with immatriculation N600C and its original TWA branded stand. There are two distinctive things about this model that make it a Golden Arrow: 1) it has the golden wings as originally planned by Howard Hughes who back then owned both Convair and TWA. and 2) the horizontal stabilizers are not mounted to the fuselage but rather to the vertical stabilizer, similar to the Caravelle SE210, a feature that the production Convair 880 did not have Its stabilizers were mounted to the fuselage and the tail had a slightly different form. The only time I have ever seen this plane in that execution, albeit with Delta livery was on a drawing that was sold on ebay a few years back. That drawing had a date stamp of June 26, 1956.
The stand has a swivel at the top that allows the plane to rotate on its axis. Does anyone know if that was original or retrofitted?

The second one is an almost 7 ft long Boeing 707 cutaway in 1946-1970s Air France livery with immatriculation F-BHSA, made by Maquette d'Étude et d'Exposition. By the immatriculation I estimate that model to have been made between 1959 and 1961. The reason for these few years is that the real life F-BHSA crashed DBR on July 27, 1961 in Hamburg and I would presume that any models made after that date would have had a different immatriculation, but that is pure speculation. Interestingly, this model is a mix of materials. The bottom of the fuselage is aluminum, the top is acrylic, the wings are wood with the landing gear and the engine internals being solid metal again.